The Who, What, When, Where and Why of the Rifles

The Rifles are a British indie rock band that has their roots in folk music. They are not just famous for their sound but also for the lyrics that are greatly influenced by the New Romantic movement. The New Romantic movement is a subgenre of the English punk which was popular in mid-1970s.

The Rifles’ debut album is called “Passing Stranger” and was released on September 2, 2006. Their second album “No Love Lost” was released on April 3, 2008 and it became an instant hit for them. They were nominated for three awards at the Brit Awards 2010 with two of them being Best British Group and Breakthrough Act.

The Rifles are a Glasgow-based indie rock band consisting of vocalist/guitarist Johnny Lloyd, guitarist Ross McFarlane, bassist/vocalist Kevin Sharkey and drummer Jamie McCredie. The band’s major label debut album “No Love Lost” was released on 18 April 2006. It contained the singles “Be Safe”, “You’re Not Alone” and “Sailors”.

The band’s second album “No Love Lost” was released in 2006. The single “You’re Not Alone” became their first UK top 40 hit. The album reached number 2 in the Album Chart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post